Dear Valued Providers,
The Child Care Playbook has been updated and can be found here.
The Rhode Island Department of Health (RIDOH) Child Care Team has a few COVID-19 testing updates and reminders:
- RIDOH is transitioning the State-supported testing and vaccination sites to traditional partners and settings for providing COVID-19 services as of July 1.
- COVID-19 testing will continue to be widely available across the state. There are many places where Rhode Islanders are able to access free COVID-19 testing. Please refer to this one-pager for a description of the various options for COVID-19 testing in Rhode Island. It is available in English, Spanish, and Portuguese. For more information on COVID-19 testing in Rhode Island, visit ri.gov/testing.
- Beginning July 1, people who want to get vaccinated or boosted can call their healthcare providers or use other options available at org, such as retail pharmacies and vaccine.gov.
- Child Care Test to Stay (TTS) testing supplies will continue to be provided to programs implementing TTS, at no-cost, by RIDOH through the Fall of 2022, while supplies last. You can request supplies through this link here. TTS forms and templates can be found on the DHS website here.
- PCR tests should not be required by child care providers as part of their illness policy when requiring children and staff to test due to being a close contact or symptomatic. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and RIDOH approve the use of antigen/self-tests in both scenarios. As the state moves to an endemic state and shifts more responsibility for COVID-19 testing to the health care system, child care providers should work to adapt their illness policy accordingly.
- Antigen tests are no longer recommended on day 5 of isolation. Individuals that test positive for COVID-19 must isolate for at least 5 days. They may return to child care on day 6 if they don’t have symptoms or symptoms are improving and they have been fever-free for 24 hours (without the use of fever-reducing medication).
- They need to wear a well-fitting mask for 5 additional days (days 6-10).
- If unable to mask, they should isolate at home for the full 10 days.
Please email firstname.lastname@example.org with any questions and a team member will follow up shortly.
The COVID-19 Child Care Response Team